History (Wakefield House)
Wakefield House is a handsome Georgian building in stunning red brick built in 1773. It is a prominent historic building on the old high street of Pinner and is the proud home and head office of Collins & Hoy Solicitors.
Through the ages Wakefield House and earlier buildings at 32 High Street Pinner have been both family homes and commercial premises including a tavern, a tailor, a newsagents and stationer to name but a few. In 1935 Wakefield House became the family home of members of William Heath Robinson’s family, where they remained until the 1980s. Since then Wakefield House has been occupied by professional firms and in the 1990s enjoyed fame as the location of a legal firm in the British Sitcom “May to December” written by Paul Mendelson.
In 2015 EM Collins & Co Solicitors moved into Wakefield House from their offices further down the High Street. In 2019, following the merger of EM Collins & Co and Garside & Hoy, Wakefield House became the new home of Collins & Hoy, a name we are sure will become just as much of an institution in the local area as this grand historic building. Following the merger with Karina Leapman & Co in 2022, Wakefield House became Collins & Hoy’s head office with offices also in St John’s Wood.
Credit and thanks go to local historian P A Clarke who in 2015 kindly prepared a history of 32 High Street upon which this piece is based. The original piece of writing is proudly displayed in our office.